2019 Summer Environmental Stewardship Fellowships

Meet our Summer 2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellows! These students will be completing internships, research and campus-sustainability type projects this summer. Feel free to contact them directly with questions about their projects!

Students surveying plants in the Arboretum

Amy Cazier

K’20
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Amy is creating an inventory of plant diversity along the Powerline Trail and Old Field at the Lillian Anderson Arboretum as part of her Senior Individualized Project (SIP).

Email: Amy.Cazier16@kzoo.edu

A group picture at Living Roots Farm

Emily Hamel

K’21
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Emily is interning at the Living Roots and Sustainability Center in French Lick Indiana.

Email: Emily.Hamel17@kzoo.edu

Student measuring tree diameter in a city park

Maddie Odom

K’20
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Maddie is assessing biodiversity, tree cover and park accessibility at 6 Kalamazoo area parks as part of her Senior Individualized Project (SIP). She is examining the correlation between socioeconomic status and green space quality/availability in Kalamazoo.

Email: Madeline.Odom16@kzoo.edu

Kelson Perez '21 surveying plants in the Arboretum

Kelson Perez

K’21
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Kelson is mapping invasive species at the Lillian Anderson Arboretum with Mat Holmes-Hackerd ’20.

Email: Kelson.Perez17@kzoo.edu

Allie working in the Hoophouse

Allie Periman

K’19, 3/2 Engineering Student
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Allie is re-envisioning the composting program at K with an emphasis on systems and creating curriculum for the Composting PE class.

Email: Alexis.Periman16@kzoo.edu

Orly Rubinfeld

K’20
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Orly is researching, designing and building an apprentice cabin at the Harvest of Joy farm as part of her Senior Individualized Project (SIP).

Email: Orly.Rubinfeld16@kzoo.edu

Yasi Shaker

K’20
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Yasi is conducting quantitative and qualitative research regarding the interest, involvement, and experiences of students of color on K’s campus with environmental and food justice organizations as part of her Senior Individualized Project (SIP).

Email: Yasamin.Shaker16@kzoo.edu

Student sitting on a stone wall in front of water with mountains in the background

Maddie Ward

K’20
2019 Environmental Stewardship Fellow

Maddie is working with RStudio and the RShiny application to find the best way to display energy, gas and water usage data in our buildings on a daily/weekly basis as part of her Senior Individualized Project (SIP).

Email: Madeline.Ward16@kzoo.edu